Release date:2015-12-22  Release:


Founded in November 1980, School of Science was formerly known as Department of Basic Sciences and adopted its present name in May 2012. It consists of seven teaching and research sections, one Basic Chemistry Experiment Center; one Biostatistics and Computational Pharmacy Center and one Key Laboratory of Bio-pharmaceutical Functional Materials. It has three doctoral programs, six master programs and one undergraduate program. Currently, it has 190 faculty members, with 145 full-time teachers, including 10 professors and 58 associate professors. Doctoral degree holders make up 36.32% and teachers under the age of 45 make up 60% of the total.


School of Science is responsible for the teaching of 31 specialized courses of its own and 109 fundamental courses of the university. Among the faculty team, there are 18 talents and experts from provincial distinguished professors, New Century Talents Project, “333 Project” and Qing-Lan Project. In recent years, the scientific research achievements have been on the rise year after year both in quantity and in quality. During the 12th Five-year Plan, School of Science undertook 29 research projects granted by the National Natural Science Foundation, 17 projects granted by Jiangsu Natural Science Foundation, 225 government-sponsored research projects, and 134 crosswise projects. It also made 83 transformation of scientific and technological achievements and patent application, and developed two new drugs of CategoryⅡ. School  of Science has chiefly edited and published four national-level textbooks, and 236 papers in Science Citation Index (SCI), with the highest impact factor of 14.8.


School of Science has been awarded many times for its management innovation achievements. The Mathematical Modeling Team organized by the School of Science has won the first, second and third prizes many times in the contest both at home and abroad, which won a great honor for the university.