Release date:2016-05-18  Release:



Professor and Director of Natural Medicinal Chemistry

Vice President of China Pharmaceutical University


Email: cpu_lykong@126.com

Research Summary

Dr. Ling-Yi Kong’s researches cover the fields of Chemistry of Chinese Materia Medica and the Chemistry of Natural Medicinal Products. His major studies focus on the extraction, identification, structural modification, biotransformation, total synthesis and structure-activity relationship (SAR) of active components from Traditional Chinese Medicines (TCMs) and natural medicinal products, which, furthermore, have laid the foundation for the research and development of new drugs. Prof. Kong has lead and directed many research projects, at both the state and the ministerial/provincial levels. Some of the eminent programs are supported by the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, the National Natural Science Foundation of China, and National Key High-Tech Research Fund for the Innovation of Novel Drugs and the Ministry of Education Key Project Supporting Fund.


1989/09-1992/06  Doctor of Medicinal Chemistry, Shenyang College of Pharmacy

1984/09-1987/06 Master ofMedicine in Medicinal Chemistry, Norman Bethune University of Medical Science

1980/09-1984/06Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy, Shenyang College of Pharmacy

Academic Experience

2013.07-Now Vice President of China Pharmaceutical University

2012/07-2013/09Asssistant Dean of Drug Research Institute, ChinaPharmaceutical University

1997/09-2012/07 Dean, School of Traditional Chinese Pharmacy

2009/04-2009/06Visiting Professor of Kyushu University, Japan

1998/04-1999/04Senior Visiting Scholar of PharmaceuticalDepartment,Meijo University, Japan

1994/09-1997/06Associate Professor, China Pharmaceutical University

1992/06-1994/09Postdoctoral Researcher, China Pharmaceutical University

1987/06-1989/09Research Associate, Tianjin Drug ResearchInstitute,StateAdministration of TraditionalChinese Medicine

Awards and Honors

2005 The prestigious National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, National Natural Science Foundation of China.

2006The Distinguished Professor of Chang Jiang Scholars Program, National Department of Education.

2009First Prize of National Natural Science Awards for Systemic Study on the Substance Basis of radix peucedani,A Traditional Chinese Medicine, National Department of Education (ranking the first).

2012  Second Prize of Science and TechnologyProgress Award for Establishment of New Methods for Chemical Isolations of Traditional Chinese Medicine, National Department of Education (ranking the first).

2013First Prize of Jiangsu Provincial Science and Technology Progress Award for Study on the Bioactive Ingredients from Several Important Medicinal Plants, Jiangsu Provincial Government (ranking the first).

2015  Second Prize of National Science and Technology Progress Award for Study and Appliances of New Technologies on Isolation of Bioactive Ingredients form Traditional Chinese Medicine and Natural Products, Peoples Republic of China (ranking the first).


Research articles

  1. Wang P., Li R.J., Liu R.H., Jian K.L., Yang M.H., Yang L., KongL.Y.*,LuoJ.*. Sarglaperoxides A and B, sesquiterpene normonoterpene conjugates with a peroxide bridge from the seeds of Sarcandra glabra. Organic Letters 2016; 18: 832-835.

  2. Li Q.M., Luo J.G., Zhang Y.M., Li Z.R., Wang X.B., Yang M.H., Luo J., Sun H.B., Chen Y.J. and Kong L.Y.*. Involucratustones A–C: unprecedented sesquiterpene dimers containing multiple contiguous quaternary carbons from Stahlianthus involucratus. Chem. Eur. J., 2015; 21: 13206–13209. 

  3. An F.L., Wang X.B., Wang H., Li Z.R., Yang M.H., Luo J.*, Kong L.Y.*. Cytotoxic rocaglate derivatives from leaves of Aglaia perviridis. Scientific Reports 2016; 6: 20045.

  4. Xu J.F., Zhao H.J., Wang X.B., Li Z.R., Luo J., Yang M.H., Yang L.,Yu W.Y., Yao H.Q., Luo J.G.*, Kong L.Y.*. (+/-)-Melicolones A and B, rearranged prenylated acetophenone stereoisomers with an unusual 9-oxatricyclo[,8)]nonane core from the leaves of Melicope ptelefolia. Org Lett 2015; 17: 146-149.

  5. Geng Y.D., Zhang C., Shi Y.M., Xia Y.Z., Guo C., Yang L.*, Kong L.Y.*. Icariside II-induced mitochondrion and lysosome mediated apoptosis is counterbalanced by an autophagic salvage response in hepatoblastoma. Cancer Letters 2015; 366: 19-31.

  6. Zhang H.J.#, Luo J.#, Shan S.M., Wang X.B., Luo J.G., Yang M.H.,Kong L.Y.*. Aphanamenes A and B, two new acyclic diterpene [4 + 2]-cycloaddition adducts from Aphanamixis grandifolia. Organic Letters 2013; 15: 5512-5515.

  7. Yin H, Luo J.G.*, Shan S.M., Wang X.B., Luo J., Yang M.H., Kong L.Y.*. Amomaxins A and B, two unprecedented rearranged labdane norditerpenoids with a nine-membered ring from Amomum maximum. Organic Letters 2013; 15: 1572-1575.

  8. Zhang C., Yang L., Wang X.B., Wang J.S., Geng Y.D., YangC.S., Kong L.Y.*. Calyxin Y induces hydrogen peroxide-dependent autophagy and apoptosis via JNK activation in human non-small cell lung cancer NCI-H460 cells. Cancer Letters 2013; 340: 51-62.

  9. Han C., Luo J.G., Xu J.F., Zhang Y.Q., Zhao Y.C., Xu X.M., Kong L.Y.*. Enantioseparation of aromatic α-hydroxycarboxylic acids: The application of a dinuclear Cu2(II)-β-cyclodextrin complex as a chiral selector in high speed counter-current chromatography compared with native β-cyclodextrin. Journal of Chromatography A 2015; 1375: 82-91.

  10. Wei D.D., Wang J.S.*, Li M.H., Guo P.P., Dong G., Yang M.H., Kong L.Y.*. A pilot study of the onset of hepatic encephalopathy (OHE) in mice induced by thioacetamide and the protective effect of taurine by holistic metabolic characterization. Metabolomics 2015; 11: 559-570.


1.Kong L.Y., Feng F, Kuang H.X., Ruan H.L., Qiu F., Zhang W.D., Zhou Y.J., Huang J., Pei Y.H., Mu Q..Chemistry of Natural Medicinal Products(second edition),China Medical Science Press, 2015.

2. Kong L.Y..Spectrometry for Complex Natural Products, China Medical Science Press, 2012

3. Kong L.Y., Chen H.S., Ruan H.L., Luo J.G., Sun L.R., Zhou Y.J., Wu Z., Liang H., Qiu F..Spectrometry,People’s Medical Publishing House,2011.